Fall Is In The Air

This morning, my weather app on my phone told me that it was 50 degrees.  BUUURRRRR…  Considering not too long ago, we were all still basking in the close to 100 degree weather, it is quite a change.  And honestly, I would love to have days like this everyday!  The crisp air in the morning is turning the leaves a bit but the warm days still let us enjoy the outdoors.

Needless to say, I seized the moment and took the Little Lady to the park in the afternoon, after a great swim lesson at the Y and a brief nap in the car.

Can you tell she loves the swing?  And making faces also!

This morning, she woke up bright and early like always.  We hung out a bit and decided that we will go apple picking after breakfast.  We weren’t sure where we wanted to go but ultimately decided to go to Lyman’s since they have lots of varieties of apples, plus pears, peaches and pumpkins currently.  They also have a corn maze, in case we were up to it.  Plus you can’t beat their farm market and outdoor picnic area!

After arriving, we spent quite a bit of time looking for Asian pear, but we were too late in the season.  We only picked three the entire time we were there!  By then, the Little Lady was hungry again for lunch, so we decided to skip the apples and go straight to the farm market for lunch.  But before we depart, we all agreed that we need to at least go look at the pumpkins.  Well, I think we got a winner.

 

We enjoyed some lunch along with apple cider out in the picnic area by the pond.  We watched the ducks in the water and bought some cider, apples, fudge and apple pie from the farm market.  After sitting on the couch for awhile, the baker in me decided to look up some apple muffins recipe, since David mentioned it while we were in the market.  I was surprised that of all the apple related things they have, the one thing they don’t have are apple muffins!  I did some research and decided to go with the Ellie Krieger’s Apple Muffins.  She is known for substituting items to make the food healthier.  Plus I have all the ingredients on hand – minus the Whole Wheat Pastry Flour.  I had to look up the difference between that and regular Whole Wheat Flour.  Turns out that it was different enough to make baked goods taste different!  Hmmm…  Well, all I have is whole wheat flour, so I decided to go with 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour along with the original 1 cup of all purpose, just so the muffins won’t taste too dense.  And instead of the Golden Delicious apples, I subbed it with a Jonamac.  Jonamac is a bit tart, but I think it is great for baked goods since sugars are usually added anyways.

Yup, my Little Lady is big enough to help me cut things!  The first time she helped me cut hot dogs to make dinner.  It was just the two of us home so I was busy watching her than taking pictures, but this time, David was home, so we now have photo evidence of an almost three year old with a knife!  No worries, it is a special kid’s knife I bought just for her, and used only when adult supervision is available.  She is so excited when she can help me in the kitchen.  I think I need to make this baking business a regular activity so she can get used to it.

Our muffins turned out to be pretty large.  We shall see how it taste after when they are cooled down a bit.

So how have you enjoyed the nice weather?

4 thoughts on “Fall Is In The Air

  1. I’m glad that you cook with Babysquared. She’s going to remember the special time she got to spend with you cooking/baking with her. 😉

    Fruit picking is something I’ve always wanted to do but, something Matt is not always up for. ;-( He’s a poo-poo head sometimes. 😉

    • Oh! I’ll have to try that one! It’s very close to the ones I made this time around. Definitely would be good to compare.

      And that seems like a cool site! I’m totally bookmarking that!

Leave a Reply

