Yarn Along: May 9, 2012

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

Project I worked on this past week:  Oatmeal.

Book just finished:  Weeknights with Giada, New Haven Chef’s Table, Made-Ahead Meals Make Healthy

Currently reading:  The girl’s guide to being a boss (without being a bitch)

How funny that the last Yarn Along post I’ve done, which is before Christmas, I also listed Oatmeal as my project?  Well, this time I used the yarn it called for and it is a much bigger size snowman than before.  This is a long overdue project for Ali-san.  I’m hoping to have it finished this week so I can mail it out to her.

So I’ve been MIA on the blog for awhile now.  Partly due to no motivation after work to post something, but partly due to a change.  A looooong while ago, I had mentioned it briefly here that there may be some changes happening and decisions will have to be made.  Well, that change has finally happened.   I got a new job working in Program Management instead of Quality.  It is a promotion and requires some travel.  The job itself is much more demanding than my previous ones, and with increase job scope.  I am no longer an Engineer, but a Manager.  It is very strange to say, but I am getting used to the title change.  And this change didn’t come easy.  There were some work politics that happened and truth be told, it was rather ugly and uncomfortable.  Without going too much into details, my previous boss took my leaving personally and thought that I betrayed her, even though she knew this job was coming eventually, at least I had let her know ahead of time, actually, when she first started to be my boss.

I think that was the reason why I picked up the book above to read.  I had saw it on a swap awhile ago, so I requested from my library.  So far it gave some good advice, but I haven’t read enough to really give it a good review.

The three books I returned to the library prior to me leaving for Maryland were really great though.  I wish I get more time with them so I can actually make a few recipes to try.  Maybe next time.   I especially enjoyed the Make-Ahead Meal one.  I think I’m gonna borrow that book again in the near future and get the ingredients the same day!  That way I can make the food and freeze them so when I do travel or work late, David and the Little Lady can still eat healthy home cooked meals!  Maybe I can convince my brother to come and make the meals with me so he can take some home with him, and that way we can make a larger varieties of things to try…  Yeah, I like that idea. 

So just checking…  who is still reading my dusty blog!?

3 thoughts on “Yarn Along: May 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

