2KCBW Day 3 – Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

I keep my yarn organized in the IKEA bookshelves.  One grid has lace, two grids have sock yarn, three grids with Farmhouse yarn, one grid with farms and festival only yarn, and the rest were organized by my madness…

This bookcase has mostly what I called the “low rider”.  It has antique shop/thrift store finds and mostly yarn from craft store.  I also recently dedicated one grid to roving.  I’m hoping that I can maintain it with just one grid!  And as you can see, I have fabrics in the totes in the foreground and the bookcase next to this big one.  Way too many, of course!

I think I have most of my yarn photographed and cataloged on Ravelry, but I’m sure there are a few stragglers in there.  I do have some reorganization ideas on my craft room overall, but I’m pretty happy where the yarn is.  I am, however, not too happy with where my notions are.  They are all currently just in the plastic drawers right now, you can almost see it in the first photo (the one little one on top right corner).  I feel that I should be able to do better, but I don’t really have any ideas.  I also don’t have a lot of needles, so I guess that isn’t really a concern, but I’m not really good at keeping all the needle tips set into the bag, and I feel that even if I do, I don’t really have a good way to identify them at the moment, since they don’t really have a lable on them.  So that would totally be something I need to work on.  I would love to know how you organize your needles!

One thought on “2KCBW Day 3 – Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches

  1. Don’t you just ADORE having a stash? I’m quite envious of yours! Glad to have located you once again and your wedding photos are sublime.

Leave a Reply

