2KCBW Day 1 – A Tale of Two Yarns

Again, I am behind on this whole blogging thing.  But I’m going to try to keep up, I promise.  And this week, I even got topics to follow!!!  So without further ado…

Part of any fibre enthusiast’s hobby is an appreciation of yarn. Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.

Man…  There are so many yarn out there that are just amazing!  What to choose!?  By checking my Rav Stash, I’ve decided I have a serious love affair with JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool-Silk 2/18.  I mean, I ONLY have 11 colors of this yarn, you know!?  They have 50 colors!  I need MORE!  OK, maybe I DON’T need more, but just look at those colors!

I love working with this yarn.  It is super soft when you knit it up, and very nice on your hand.  And it blocks beautifully.  Just look at my pretty shawl!

Another yarn that I love is Kona Bay Cotton.  Sadly, I think it is discontinued.  The only place I can find them is on Ravelry on other raveler’s stash.  It is one of the softest yarn I’ve ever knitted with. 

I have 2.5 skeins left of this red color, and some light blue and moss.  I need to think of a project to knit them up with.  Maybe a tank.

Of course, there are many others that I loved working with… like anything alpaca is always something I would pick up.  And Schaefer’s Andrea or Audrey is always a rare treat.

On another hand, there are a few less desirables.  I have a few incidents with Farmhouse Yarn.  When they work, they are awesome to work with, but too many little things to put me off.  Sadly, I have a lot of Farmhouse Yarn, so I guess I’ll figure out what to do with them.  Another brand is Louisa Harding.  I’ve used two yarn from this brand, but they both are really splitty.  I guess it may be the yarn content and the fiber tendency, but I’ve knitted with other yarn with similar content with no issues.  So they’ve made it on my boo boo list as well.

And there are definitely many other yarn that I would love to try, such as Madelinetosh, Bugga, Shelter, Quincy & Co, to name a few.  I am about to knit with Malabrigo Silky for the first time, and I’m super excited about it, but first, I need to finish the splitty yarn project to enjoy the Malabrigo heaven!

Leave a Reply

