Sunny Ft. Lauderdale

Back in May, after MDS&W trip, I had made a trip to Ft. Lauderdale to visit my in laws for a weekend.  Well, technically, I was supposed to do a spouse swap with my FIL – he was supposed to come to CT and go hillclimb with David for that weekend and I would go down to visit my step MIL.  Well, due to school conflict, it turned out that he wasn’t able to go, but I went anyways.  I was in need of a change of scenery.

Ever since I moved to CT, I had developed severe seasonal allergy.  It was so bad last year I not only only have the sinus infection and post nasal drip induced cough, I had developed Bronchitis!  But then after the bronchitis went away, the cough didn’t and my doctor had thought I had developed asthma from all the cranziness going on.  It turned out I had some kind of viral thing going along with the baterial bronchitis and I just needed two weeks of strong inhaler to clear it.  Or it could be the fact that I was relaxed at 1000 Islands shortly after being diagnosed for asthma and made it went away.

Anyway.  So Ft. Lauderdale was a welcoming change since it was still kind of chili at CT and I figured the warm weather will help with this year’s bronchitis (yes, I had one this year again, but it’s viral instead of bacterial.)  I arived late (around 9:30pm) and was welcomed by both in laws.  Sheryl took the long way home so she can give me a quick tour of the area.  When we got bck to their condo, I was already feeling relaxed and better!  Plus she made matzo ball soup for me!  Let me just mention here right now, matzo balls in clear chicken brother is one of my favorite way to have soup.  I know, I am far from looking Jewish, but hey, I just like them!  I must have shoved three of those matzo balls down my throat because a) I was hngry, and b) I haven’t had them for a long time.  And yes, I know how to make them myself, but don’t you think chicken soup made from others for you just taste so much better?  Sheryl and I stayed up quite a it and flipped through some of the old photo albms she had.  It was so much fun to see some older pictures of David.

On Saturday, dad went to school while Sheryl and I had grand plans of eating French breakfast and shop for baby stuff!  We started off with an awesome breakfast at this little French Cafe by her house.  I had crepe with fresh berries and fresh squeezed orange juice, and Shery had pate sandwich.  They were delicious!  I ate it so fast you would think I didn’t eat for days!  YUM.

After the awesome breakfast, we went to Baby Love, which is one of Baby Bargain’s favorite stores!  (I didn’t know that when I went.  I purchased the book afterwards!)  The store is total of 67,000 sq ft!  Yes, it was THAT big.  They have everything you can think of, every brand you know of, and then some!  And we just happened to go when they have an “Additional 75% off on clearance items” day.  We of course snatched some really good deals on onesies.

I had to have Sheryl hold it until I got home since I had a tiny backpack with me as carry-on when I went down.  And this Thusday, the package arrived –

Saturday night, we went to visit Sheryl’s cousins who were having a graduation party for their son.  It was fun and interesting meeting some of Sheryl’s family.

On Sunday, we went back to the French café and bought me a croissant and fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast and we said our goodbyes for our short visit.  I wish the visit could have been longer, but we are both short on vacation days.

3 thoughts on “Sunny Ft. Lauderdale

    • Ha! I know huh!? But despite the fact that there are lot of blue color, we really truly don’t know the sex!!! Maybe Sheryl is trying to influence the sex by buying all blue? Sheryl???

Leave a Reply

