The Traveling Tajine Project – Belated

Man.  This is WAAAAAY overdue.  I just want to apologize to Vanilla Garlic before I show you what I made, for not posting this for the longest time. 

 You see, when I made this dish, I had just found out from the sticks on what’s to become of me for the next 35 weeks, and that the baby was kicking my butt, and I ended up not posting nor knitting for quite awhile.  But no fear my friends – I will share this yummy dish with the rest of the bloggy world.

The Traveling Tajine Project was initiated by Vanilla Garlic, to share his love of this piece of equipment on cooking specific dishes.  Each participant will have the Tajine for a month.  During the month, you are to make however many dishes you like using the Tajine.  In exchange, the participants have to post on their blog on what they made and their experience with it.

The Tajine came to me mid March.  And reason being that the Tajine is highly fragile and broke during transport, so some time was taken for replacement to show up to the previous participant.  I was super excited when I join the project as I had a whole cookbook on ceramic/clay pot recipes that I wanted to try.  But in the end, I only made this simple dish:

SNC00008

 Butterfly Leg of Lamb

  • 1 Leg of Lamb, butterflied
  • Canola Oil, enough to rub the leg of lamb
  • Finely chopped garlic, amount depends on how garlic-y you like your dish
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary, or
  • 1 tsp chopped dried rosemary
  • Half of lemon, cut them in small wedges
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  1. Generously rub the butterflied leg of lamb with all ingredients besides lemon.  Gently squeeze the lemon wedges directly on the rubbed leg of lamb for some lemon juice, and place the lemon wedges in with the lamb.  Let marinate as long as you can stand.
  2. If you marinated overnight in the fridge, take it out to let stand in room temp. for half an hour before next step.
  3. Pre-heat oven with the Tajine in it to 375°F.  NOTE:  It’s best not put a cold tajine into a hot oven as the temp difference may make the tajine crack.
  4. When you are ready to make the dish (once the oven is preheated and pass some time so the tajine and the oven has a chance to stabilize in temp in your oven), take the tajine out and put the leg of lamb along with all the marinate items in it.  It should sizzle briefly and turn when one side is brown.  You can pre-sear the meat in a different pan to get better seared sides, but I didn’t want to wash another pan.
  5. Cover the tajine and put it back into the oven before it becomes too cold and bake for 35 to 45 minutes, depending on the size of your leg of lamb.
  6. When it’s ready, take it out, cut it up and enjoy!

It may seem complicated, but it really isn’t.  Some of the dishes that I didn’t get to try were some desserts.  Maybe when I get a chance, I’ll post for others to try.  Or maybe, I should just try them in regular Pyrex dishes.

One thought on “The Traveling Tajine Project – Belated

  1. Looks delicious! The only time that I’ve ever had lamb was in the form of lamb-burgers at sheep and wool festivals. Maybe I’ll get to try it in some other capacity someday.

Leave a Reply

