It Must Be The Water…

At work.  Or maybe it’s the toilet seats.  Either way, I’m blaming this whole thing to Sikorsky.

snc00010

That was on Feb 23rd 7pm.  And see that horizontal bar?  That’s really a plus sign, just a little faded under the light.  Yeah…  The sign didn’t even wait for one second to show up!

In a disbelief, I walked out the bathroom with the box and the stick into the living room, David was a little concerned and asked, “What’s wrong?  You ok?”  “Well, I think the box is lying, but it says I’m pregnant!”  “What?” “See!”

It took me a whole day to digest the info, and on Wednesday morning, I did another test, since the box said it’s best to do it in the morning.

snc00011

Yup.  That’s two sticks laughing at me.

On March 2nd, I had my first appointment.  The midwife confirmed that I was pregnant, and that it wasn’t a joke.  And then gave me a bunch of paperwork so I can get some blood work done and scheduled me an ultrasound for the following week.

I have to say, I was dreading for the blood work.  I always end up to be the pin cushion that no one can find where the veins are.  But I was pleasantly surprised by this trip.  The lady I had was a pro.  SO good that I didn’t feel anything and I had like 10 tubes taken outta me!  (I have extra test done because I’m Chinese and David is French Canadian…  Lots of possibility – but all came back negative!!!!)  And best of all – no bruises!!!!!!

On March 12th, I had my ultrasound.  Well, it was an interesting experience to say the least.  Lets just say that it’s NOT an external ultrasound.  Yeah, lets leave it at that.  But we got a cool picture and got to listen to the heart beats!

 

March 12, 2009:  1.14cm, 7 weeks 2 days

March 12, 2009: 1.14cm, 7 weeks 2 days

I have to say, that little “dot” didn’t really convince me that I was pregnant.  I think I was still in disbelief, besides the fact that I feel like I’m ready to be sick every moment, and I was completely WIPED OUT!  I was amazed that I didn’t fell asleep at work!  And luckily for me, that I haven’t actually been sick, yet.  (knock on wood!)

At the same trip as the ultrasound, I was informed by my regular OB that my sugar level is a bit high.  She thinks it’s nothing, but she sent me away with another trip to Quest Dianogstic.

I didn’t realize it was the one hour glucose test that I read about, and I showed up way late one Saturday, and realized what it was, and left without anything done.  On Tuesday March 24th, I drank a big glass of lemonade and ate a bunch of starburst, then found a Quest that opens till 5:30 and made a last minute decision of getting the sugar test done so it will be in time for my next appointment.  Needless to say, I was a bit worried about the test results.  I mean, I didn’t exactly set myself up for success there!

On April 1st, this past Wednesday, we had our standing appointment.  I had to take another pee test, something about the culture came back weird and need to do it again (= me worried until my next appointment, which is on April 20th), and that my sugar test came back normal!  You read that!?  NORMAL!!! 🙂  So happy about that.

And because the baby is too small to be heard reliablely by a doppler (at this point, I asked if it’s like the weather!  HAHA!) so the doc did a super fast ultrasound to check on he/she.  And the baby has ARMS!!!!!!  It was doing The Twist!  Whatever he/she was doing, the baby was having a party in there, for sure!  Although it is quite weird to see the baby moving but not feeling the movement though!

So that’s the update for now.  We are having a genetic testing done on April 16th.  More blood work… yay…  not.

We haven’t decided if we want to find out the gender yet.  We are only about 11 weeks pregnant so we definitely have some time to think about it.

Now, this post is making me tired…  Time to sleep – AGAIN!  

PS.  Sleeping has been my best friend, and my worst enemy!  I love to sleep at all times, but at the same time, it hurts my back!  RAR!  Don’t worry, I got some solution worked out already!

17 thoughts on “It Must Be The Water…

  1. Congrats pregnant lady!!!!

    So you had to do the Tay Sachs testing too, huh? I have been prescreened for that since I, too, am of French Canadian descent. Luckily, I tested negative too.

  2. !!!!!!!!! Yay! I’m so very excited for you! I was wiped out for the first three months as well (no sickness at all though) so I wish you lots of rest time!

  3. WOO HOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    yay! yay! yay!

  4. Pingback: Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival « Café Eclectic

Leave a Reply

