2008 in Review

I’m sure people are sick of looking at reviews and resolutions by now, so I’ll keep mine short and sweet –

1.  2008 was most important to David and I because we had our wedding.  And of course, being a knitter, I have to make something!

wedding

From left to right:  Wedding Basket, Lehmus-huivi, Woodland Shawl, Kiri, and Moondance.

2.  I joined Sock Knitters Pentathlon 2008, in celebration of the Summer Olympics.  Not my favorite thing to do, but I finished none the less.

skp

From left to right:  Sock 5 – Olympic Medals, Sock 4 – Ziggy, Sock 3 – Rattlesnake Creek, Sock 2 – Berlin Muster, Sock 1 – Jacobean.

3.  Needless, to say, I participated in the Kntting Olympics.  I knitted Lehmus-huivi for it.  Full size lace shawl in 17 days – if you’ve told me that two years ago that I would be able to do this, I would look at you like you have five heads!

4.  I knitted lots for Schaefer this past year also.  But mostly small items because of all the wedding knitting.

schaefer

From left to right, top to bottom:  Market Bag in Laurel, Market Bag in Susan, Collared Children Cardigan, Hooded Children Cardigan, Laurel Summer Bag, Undulating Wave Scarf Swatches, Honeycomb Socks.

5.  Of course, I also knitted some other things that can’t be categorized by the above three.

misc

From left to right, top to bottom:  Christmas Ornaments, Rusted Root, Blanket Square, Red Sox Socks, Winter Blues Piggy, Irish Hiking Scarf.

I look back to my resolution from the beginning of the year and this is what it says:

 

For 2008, here are some of the things I would like to accomplish:

  1. Finish all the wedding knitting on time.  I finish all the wedding knitting on time!!!
  2. Reduce 20% of my stash by making more projects.  I don’t think I reduced much of the stash – partly because I knitted a lot of stuff for Schaefer and I kept on getting paid in yarn!  Not like that’s a bad thing…  but it certainly didn’t help with this goal.
  3. Finish Irish Hiking Scarf.  I finish Irish Hiking Scarf!!!
  4. Finish Secret of the Stole I.  I didn’t finish SotS I, nor II, nor III.  Maybe this year I’ll check out the whole pattern and see if I even want to do it!
  5. Finish Aspen Top Down Sweater.  I didn’t finish Aspen Top Down Sweater.  I got distracted with other items and it just sat in my little cubby waiting to be finished.
  6. Continue to model knit with Schaefer – although I really need to manage it so I don’t overwhelm myself.  See #2.  I think I accomplished this.
  7. Start Autumn Rose Pullover – Fair Isle here I come!  I did try out fair-isle, but not on Autume Rose. 
  8. Felt something. May it be clogs or bags.  I felted my wedding basket!  It was a lot of fun!
  9. Learn to spin if we move and have more room.  We didn’t move this year, so no room to do spinning.
  10. Learn to dye if we move and have more room.  See #9.  No room to dye.

 

I completed 4 items, 2 items didn’t get completed because the condition didn’t meet.  So 50% completion – not bad!  I suck at completing any resolutions so I’m pretty proud of myself.

Lets see my other resolutions:

  1. Be nice. Not to say I’m not nice, but sometimes I’m not, especially when I am losing my patience, which leads to no. 2.  I think I accomplished this somewhat, but not to the level I wanted to be.
  2. Be patient.  This is definitely still a WIP.  Patience is NOT my virtue.
  3. Complete all wedding details by mid-August. We’ll see how this one goes…  I completed this with flying colors, if I do say so myself!  Everything went smoothly and everyone had a great time!
  4. Experiment with gluten free cakes – maybe I can make the wedding cupcakes?? Or at least have the recipes to do it? We tired Baby Cakes at NYC, they were good, but we weren’t completely thrilled with them.  I scrapped that idea and ordered a gluten free cake from TN for our top tier and bought Vanilla and Chocolate cupcakes from a local baker.  YUM.
  5. Spend more time on my business. I know I can do it, but it’s the motivation part of it… Knitting? Work? hmmm which one to pick?  I decided to not do the financial business anymore.  I wasn’t having fun.  Yes, I know it’s a job, but I already have one!  I want to have fun with what I want to do.  I am still planning to open a yarn store, just not sure the timeline now since we are in the process of buying a house and that probably will put a damper on things.

There you have it.  My 08 in review.   What about my 09 resoultuions,  you ask?  Well, I think this is what I want to do this year:

  1. Knit more things for me.
  2. Cook more.
  3. Start that Autume Rose sweater!!!!
  4. Finish the Aspen Top Down Sweater.
  5. Try Thrummed Knitting

Ok.  A shorter list, in hope of I actually do all of it!

Have a healthy, peaceful, safe and happy 2009!

2 thoughts on “2008 in Review

  1. Happy New Year!

    The knits are lovely and great job on 2008’s resolutions too. It’s o.k. if you didn’t get to them all – some of them will just be WIP’s 😉

    Best of luck with your 2009 goals! I’m sure you’ll smoke ’em!

Leave a Reply

