Happy Thanksgiving!

To all your family and friends.

img_0023

That is our lovely honey brined smoked turkey.  We’ve made this turkey ever since my brother moved here in 2004.  We saw it on Good Eats from foodnetwork and just couldn’t resist to light smoking flavor of the hickory.  Plus!  It frees up our oven!  How sweet is that!?

img_0026

CostumeChick and Evad came to our shingdig since they couldn’t go home for the holidays this year due to work.

img_0028

David’s mom came too 🙂  And our friend K & M showed up around dessert time to hang out, but I forgot to take a picture of them while they are there.

And from the picture, you can see our lovely dinner.  Here is the menu and links of recipes:

 

  • Sausage and Herb Stuffing (I made gluten free corn bread and used that instead of regular bread.  Also, I skipped the dried cranberries since David doesn’t like it.  But I bet it’s good if you put it in!)
  • Holiday Spiced Sweet Potatoes (This is such a yummy twist of the regular sweet potatoes!!  I used Trader Joe’s Organic sugar instead of brown sugar since that’s all I have on hand.  But I bet you can use Demerara sugar and it’s just as good.)
  • Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes (I made this up – I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and it turned out awesome.)
  • Cranberry Sauce (I made this for the past two years and I can’t say anything bad about it.  The only thing is that I don’t know what to do with the leftovers!  I’ll have to look up that this year!)
  • Green Beans with Pancetta and Shallots (This is a good quick sautee.  Although I think with all the confusions, I forgot to put the shallots.  Opps :P)
  • Roasted Broccoli: Barefoot Contessa Style (I don’t actually have the cookbook.  I saw this on Amature Gourmet’s blog and couldn’t resist but make it for the Thanksgiving dinner.  It is SO GOOD.  I made the Amature Gourmet’s version though.)
  • Chinese Sweet Rice Stuffing (I can’t begin to tell you how to make this since my brother whipped it up.  My grandmother always made this for Thanksgiving at home and we both love it so much we have to have it.  Good thing my brother knows how!)
  • Mulled Apple Cider (I was going to make this.  But I found mulled cider spice bags in the supermarket that included everything in the recipe and all I had to do is drop the spice bags in with the gallon of cider and put them in the slow cooker…  yeah… it was easy AND good!)

 

And CostumeChick made a killer gluten free pumpkin pie that was sweetened with honey.  SO YUMMY.  And yes, we got a ton of leftovers!!!  What have we done with the leftovers?  Hmmm…  Let’s see…

 

  • Holiday Spiced Sweet Potatoes –> Sweet Potato Pancakes (1 egg, 1 cup of rice flour, 1/2 cup of sweet rice flour, mix well and form pancake shape on your griddle or big flat pan with butter!  Oh, you can use all purpose flour isntead of the above gluten free options)
  • Sausage and Herb Stuffing –> We reheated this in the oven and heat up the Trader Joe’s Creamy Corn and Roasted Pepper soup and eat them together for lunch.
  • Turkey –> Part of the meat will probably go into a Turkey Shepards Pie with the leftover potatoes.  The bones will make Turkey Stocks.  Turkey Stocks will probably turn into Wild Rice Soup, which usually use chopped ham, but I think we’ll use leftover turkey this time to try it out.
  • Green Beans and Broccoli –>  They will probably stay as side for another meal, maybe steak or pork chops!

 

So if you have ANY ideas what to do with leftoever cranberry sauce, let me know!  Maybe a dessert of some sort?

Oh, and see what I found in the supermarket?

img_0021

That is damn good.  I still need to try the Sugar Cookie Eggnog!  The pumpkin one is great (I tried it last year!)

Now that we are done talking about food, which seem to be happening a lot lately, we should talk about the highly anticipated SHOPPING.

Everyone knows black friday supposedly has the best deal EVER for the whole year.  It marks the beginning of the Holiday Season and the start of holiday shopping.  I go every year, although I don’t stay up all night and go to the midnight sale.  This year, I needed some winter skirts and pants for the new job (which I found and got) and of course, Coach.

img_0029

Meet my new Coach purse.  Isn’t it pretty? 🙂

So yeah…  That’s all I got so far.  Oh!  And I finished the market bags for Schaefer, but I forgot to take a picture before I mailed it out.  I finished it this morning at 11am and I wanted to make sure it gets mailed with the mail wagon today instead of Monday so I rushed it into my mailbox with Clip-n-Ship, which by the way, is the best service EVER invented!  I’m still in my PJs and I mailed the box to Schaefer!

So now I’m off to ponder which project to start next…  Hmm…  Central Park Hoodies? Rogue? Olive Branch Hoodie? Celtic Icon? Sage Cardigan?  Oh the agony of choosing…  Only if we have more time in a day!

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

