Food? I Thought This Was a Knitting Blog?

I know, I know.  But I promise there are some knitting content in this post!

A New Stew

Whenever I made beef stew, I got my staple recipe that I go to everytime.  I make it so much I know it by heart.  And it never fails.  But today, while I was browsing around, I saw another recipe – Beef and Butternut Squash Stew, and I couldn’t help but give it a try!

img_0010

I subsitute the marsala wine with some apple cider, although when I googled for good subs for the wine, it said grape juice.  I supposed it made sense, but I had apple cider on hand and I know it will work.

I will definitely make this again, but I will probably put the butternut squash when there is half an hour left for the stewing so it doesn’t completely full apart on me.  Or I will try my staple recipe’s trick – sautee the butternut squash in a separate pan until the edges are golden brown.  I’ll update the next time I make this.

Gluten Free Meatloaf

Since we are talking about food, I might as well show off my last weekend’s dinner – Meatloaf.

img_9987

I used the meatloaf mix from a sale I got and there were way too much meat, so I made two of them instead.  Also, I made them with cooked rice isntead of bread crumb so David can enjoy this as well.  One more thing – no tomato of any kind is in this meatloaf.  I made a honey glaze instead and it was good!

Sadly, I can’t find the link that I got the recipe from, so I can’t credit the awesome recipe maker.  But I will quickly share what I made here:

Meatloaf

  • 2 lbs meatloaf mix (or ground whatever…)
  • 3 cups of cooked rice
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp Worstershire Sauce
  • 1 tbsp Steak Seasoning
  • 5 strips of bacon (or whatever you need to cover the top of the meatloaf)

Honey Glaze

  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 dash of worstershire Sauce
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 tsp of pepper

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

2. Mix all ingredients for the meatloaf together, and shape it in the meatloaf form.  You can use a loaf pan to shape it and then turn it out onto the baking pan, but I was lazy and I didn’t want to clean another item.

3. Cover meatloaf with the bacon strips

4. Mix the honey glaze and brush it on top of the meatloaf and bake for 1 hour or until done (150 degrees).

Win A Knife!

Go visit here to see the knives give-away!!!

Turkey Sighting!

In my driveway!  So weird.  There were two but I didn’t get both at the same picture.

img_0005

Knitting!

See!  There ARE actual knitting content in this blog!  Although I’m still making the Schaefer bags.  New development on that though.  I received words that the handle is no good, so I ripped it out and fixed it.

img_0012

Now you can’t even tell which one is which!

And I started the Laurel bags – same pattern, just using a different yarn.  I finish one already and am currently on the second one:

img_0013

img_0015

Almost done.  Once it’s done, I think I’m going to make something for myself.

3 thoughts on “Food? I Thought This Was a Knitting Blog?

  1. Bacon on meatloaf is the most important part! I’m biased – that’s how my Nana made meatloaf and it was quite a privilege to be there when she would take the loaves out of the oven and you could just snag the bacon away! Those bags are coming along nicely 🙂 Isn’t it crazy to see turkeys out and about?

Leave a Reply

