Popeye’s or KFC, You Got Nothing on Me!

For some reason, I’ve been craving fried chicken lately.  But making fried chicken scares me – the coating has to be crispy and good, and the chicken has to be tender, and no setting fires at the house is a must.  So I’ve never made it.  I’ve always gone to Popeye’s or KFC for those cravings.

Last night, I took out some chicken drumsticks from the freeze to thawe for dinner tonight.  I was looking for a recipe I saw awhile ago with this honey glaze and baked in the oven, but then I came across this recipe and after reading it, I decided that it’s meant to be that I have some buttermilk on hand (I rarely have buttermilk in the fridge, it just happened I used it to bake corn muffin last week for David.), and I have all the things it calls for in the house besides onion, and that was good enough.

I follow the marinade ingredients quite extensively.  Since I didn’t have onion, I used some chopped garlic in the marinade instead.  I even got up extra early this morning to marinade the chicken, which I can assure you doesn’t happen all that often (actually, I can’t think of the last time I got up early to marinade something for dinner, EVER.)  

As for the coating, that’s where I changed things up – instead of all purpose flour, I used potato starch instead.  My grandmother always use potato starch when she made her famous fried pork chop and it gives a nice crispy skin, so I decided to go with that.  Plus David can eat that if he decide to do so when he gets home.  Also for the seasoning of the coating, I had Old Bay seasoning on hand so I used a teaspoon of that, plus a pinch of salt and black pepper instead of what it calls for.

Six tender on the inside, crispy on the outside drumsticks were the results!  Pair it with some chedder cheese mashed potatoes and a glass of wine, it is a total comfort food in my book.  I probably would put more than a pinch of salt on the coating mixture next time I make this.  You should totally try it if you like fried chicken.  And if you think frying is bad for you…  Well, grow up and get over it.  Moderation is what matters. 

 

_______________________________________________

 

On a complete different note, while I was driving around today, I saw this and couldn’t stop giggling:

In case you are having a hard time reading it, it says:  Milford Indoor Tennis – Come in and have yourself a ball.

It said ball.

5 thoughts on “Popeye’s or KFC, You Got Nothing on Me!

  1. Yumm! That looks (and sounds) fantastic 🙂 I have nothing against frying, but I probably would have added a colorful vegetable to the plate to ward off the nutritional naysayers 😉

    Hee, hee… ball!

  2. This is too funny . We just had some grandmother potato starch famous fried pork chop last night .
    Fried Chicken is my favor . I am going to try this next week !! Thank you for sharing !

Leave a Reply

