Pasta with Broccoli and Sausage v.2

Awhile ago, I had an experiment with Pasta with Broccoli and Sausage.  It was a delicious meal and I loved it.  I posted for all to try but I’m not sure if anyone actually did.  (If not, you should, it was yummy, and fast!) This morning, I took out some sausage without casing and I decided to make a slightly different one.

Pasta with Broccoli and Sausage v.2

1 lb of Italian sausage – The one I bought are without casings already, if you use link sausages, then remove casing (I used sweet sausage, but feel free to use the spicy stuff!)
1 onion, chopped
1/2 tsp of chopped garlic
1 large crown of broccoli (or 2 small ones!)
1 lb of pasta (I used Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Pasta in Penne form, but feel free to use anything you have)
1/2 tsp of dried thyme or 1/2 tbsp of fresh thyme
a pinch of dry red pepper flakesr
1 cup of chicken stock (mine is from a box! but use home made stuff if you got it!)
Enough salt for the pasta water
Grated Pecorino Romano or Parmigiano-Reggiano to top the pasta [optional]

Cook the pasta in a pot of salted boiling water according to the directions.

In a saute pan (I used my new Rachael Ray saute pan from my shower – the kind that has a little bit of the sides) on medium low heat, add the sausage and let it brown a bit, and then push them to one side, leave the grease to the other and add the onions.  After the onions are a bit translucent, then add the garlic. Continue to saute the mixture and add in the thyme and dry red pepper flakes (black pepper here too if you wish).  When the mixture looks done, add the chicken stock and let it simmer.

When the pasta is almost done (about 8 mins in), put the broccoli into the sausage mixture and cover to let hte broccoli steam.  Drain the pasta and add it into the sausage and broccoli mixture. If your pan is not big enough, then after draining the pasta and broccoli, put the sausage and broccoli mixture into the pasta pot instead.

Top the pasta with grated cheese and black pepper if you choose. Enjoy!

Note: This is a very quick dish, everything happens simultaneously. Feel free to improvise with different things, such as add in saute onions, peppers, etc. If you like garlic, put more in, if not, don’t put it in at all! No thyme? No problem, add some oregano instead! Experiment and have fun!

 

ps.  I didn’t forget about the pictures…  they are done but I’m not sure how I want to present it…  Yes, I know, indecisive!

2 thoughts on “Pasta with Broccoli and Sausage v.2

  1. Pingback: A Meme of sorts « Café Eclectic

Leave a Reply

